Ryanair random seat Allocation

Black Sheep

Has anyone been the victim of the random seat allocation and seating couple/families at either ends of the plane in middle seats?
Went to print boarding passes yesterday (four days ahead) for flight on Sunday next. Myself and OH were seated at either end of the plane -middle seats. Checked every other vacant seat on the plane ans "Surprise Surprise"there was not a single other free seat available

Forgot to mention I've been travelling with them for many years several times per year and have never come across this before, so there appears to be a change of policy

I like Ryanair. I fly all the time with them. But having seen at first hand this clear philosophy of seating people who booked together in separate seats it is clearly done to make people pay for seats.

I got an email today prompting me to book seats. I am traveling with a friend to Birmingham in September, but we booked separately. It doesn't matter to us whether we sit together or not.

upload_2017-6-10_10-18-0.png

Row 1 is €16
Rows 2 - 5 are €13 to €14
Rows 24 to 29 are €4.

The return flight was €40.

On balance, I would prefer a €40 flight with the option of paying €32 for a seat at the very front than paying €80 and being allowed to choose my own seat.

I'm in no hurry and as it's a short flight I will sit where I am put. On longer flights or if I want to get off the plane quickly, I have booked the front row.

Disclosure of interest: I have shares in Ryanair.

Brendan

Attachments

• upload_2017-6-10_10-14-51.png
    upload_2017-6-10_10-14-51.png
    76.4 KB · Views: 3
  • upload_2017-6-10_10-15-33.png
    upload_2017-6-10_10-15-33.png
    84.2 KB · Views: 4
Long time ryanair traveller here too, and recently been affected by this randon seat policy change. I have change and book a seat to keep family together :(