Registering & hosting .ie

catherined61

Can anyone give me an unbiased view of hosting companies?

When questions are asked about performance etc, one of the companies post on forums touting their wares and then another and then another.

I was leaning towards Blacknight as they appear helpful. There's spiral, hosted365 etc. What type of things should one be looking out for when it comes to hosting or is it they all just want the business?

I'm using blacknight to host a few domains and find their support to be good. I've no direct experience of the others. I chose blacknight because I specifically wanted IMAP instead of POP mail and wanted SMTP-Auth support and not POP-before-SMTP which at least one other I looked at did not provide - I don't remember which others I looked at.

Hosting365 are the countries largest host (and host this site) and provide IMAP (and SMTP auth) Dearg Doom (as well as a range of services) from 39.95 per year for the hosting, and have the lowest cost domain names also.

If your hosting / site is important to you, check out the host, perhaps even visit them in person, as many hosting providers are one or two man operations who resell space or servers from other larger (often not even Irish) providers.

Also worth checking out the support levels and availability - is support 24/7, does the host provide freephone access to the support team, etc.

<Disclosure> I work for hosting365

Hosting365 had a major problem a few months back, all the sites hosted
by them where down.
I felt they handled the problem and follow up very badly.

So I will be moving to Blacknight when my contract is up with H365.

Blacknight & Hosting365 are the major players in the Irish market.

I used to host in the states which was cheaper, but wanted to be able
to pick up the phone and talk to some one in Ireland if I had a problem.
When H365 had their problem you couldn't even contact their support.