Quinn Life Freeway Funds

nelly123

Hi,

Just a few questions about Quinn Life Freeway Funds please, as I am new to investing.

First off, these savings funds are structured as life assurance policies, what does this mean in comparison to a regular savings fund?

What is the difference with funds which buy "units" as opposed to buying shares directly?

It states that the exit tax on encashment is 23%, but I thought I saw something before about life assurance policies being taxed @ 40%, which is correct? Any other tax issues?

How are dividends handled, are they reinvested back into the fund and are you required to pay income tax separately on these?

These may be basic questions but one can only learn by asking. Really would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks

First off, these savings funds are structured as life assurance policies, what does this mean in comparison to a regular savings fund?
No different. Most if not all unit linked funds are structured as life assurance policies.
What is the difference with funds which buy "units" as opposed to buying shares directly?
Have a read of the AAM and IFSRA guides to savings and investments linked from the key topics thread at the top of this forum.
It states that the exit tax on encashment is 23%, but I thought I saw something before about life assurance policies being taxed @ 40%, which is correct? Any other tax issues?
Tax on most or all unit linked funds is 23% of any growth automatically deducted on exit with no other tax liability.
How are dividends handled, are they reinvested back into the fund and are you required to pay income tax separately on these?
They are invested back into the fund. Tax is normally taken care of.

Thanks for the advice

I noticed revenue are involved in some form of clampdown relating to life assurance policies. Does this mean I would need to inform them if I opened a fund, as in declare the fund on some tax form?