When will the downward spiral in the stockmarket end?

Janman07

I have been making (seeming sensible) investments for a few years now with help from AAM, financial advisors and a good bit of study on the subject.

I feel like I am doing things by the book - diversification, euro cost averaging, maximising pension tax relief, buying on weakness etc., yet every time I check the value of my 'investments' things have gotten worse.

Would anyone care to speculate as to when things are going to turn around? Should I continue to average down or should I sit tight until things improve? I would be way ahead if I had just put the money on deposit. In fact the only thing propping up my portfolio at this stage is bank interest from regular savers etc.

Pleased to hear opinions.

Re: When will the downward spiral end?

you are only long the market. You can make money as market falls also.

You'll need to remember you're in it for the long hall and need to be able to sit out these dips. If I remember correctly, at the beginning of the SSIA scheme, most people who had gone for equity funds were losing money, but after 2-3 years they'd caught up with the deposit funds. By the time most SSIAs matured last year, the equity funds were looking very nice.

It's beginning to look and feel like a bit more than a dip. Did you see the ISEQ today? Yikes.

Short answer - bottom out Q3 2009 to Q1 2010.