Who is the best person to speak to about getting initial mortgage advice ?

Subway_surfer

Hi,
I am a complete newbie to all of this - I have been saving and am hoping to be in a position to buy soon but I am completely clueless to be honest and don't know where to start.
Is a financial advisor a good person to speak to or is it a mortgage broker? if you speak to a mortgage advisor in the bank, can it really be impartial?
I am thinking I could be eligible for a Local Authority home loan and so I am not sure if I should speak to someone there first. I know I'd have to be refused a mortgage from the bank first but what if I do that and then do not want to go ahead with a LA loan -can you go back to the bank straight away?
I try to get information from people/friends/colleagues etc but find a lot are cagey!
just to add im not looking for people to recommend brokers/advisors etc to me just general direction on how to get advice

Thanks

I would say post your details here.

Check out these Key Posts

and this one in particular

I've drawn down two mortgages. The first (innocently) when I just went to Bank of Ireland who my wife always banked with, and the second time via a broker.

I'd highly recommend a broker. They are ultimately paid by the bank but are working for the customer to at least some extent. They have familiarity with the underwriting practices of all the different lenders and can help you best present your circumstances to all lenders.

As a former mortgage advisor, I would suggest that you make a few appointments and visit the various institutions, collect a few application forms and make yourself familiar with the process. After a few interviews you will have gathered enough knowledge to actually make an application.