Wedding cakes - how much did yours cost

Bronte

My whole wedding didn't even come close to 1/50th the price of a certain well known wedding cake, actually I didn't want a cake but sibling said I had to have one so I'm not an expert on the area.

From my reading of Irish weddings during the boom, weddings were about 30K o) but how much does a wedding cake for 200 people cost and how much did the rest of you spend on your cake.

Other than cream, fruit, icing, chocolate, flour etc and subtracting let's say 2K for expert transportation from New York, what would go into a cake that is expensive. Other than diamonds I cannot get my head around it.

Our 'post boom' wedding is costing 35K. There is no recession when it comes to weddings.

Cake is €480 however we are only have 150ish....

I didnt have a wedding cake or a traditional wedding so I wouldnt have a clue on a 'normal' cost, but I suppose its like anything, its worth what someone will pay for it. If someone out there can make a wedding cake that costs 100k and someone is willing to pay that for the cake - then the person buying the cake has more money than brains.

Although it was years ago, I'd say in todays terms our wedding cake cost about €100, maybe less. It was pretty nice too. We had a fairly traditional wedding so it's not as if we were even really trying to do it on a budget. Seemed to be fairly standard. Sure a cake is a cake, after all!

We recently paid €300 for a "cake" made from cheese and grapes - it looked amazing and was divine. Worked really well for afters. Venue provided it themselves so no transport costs.

Our 'post boom' wedding is costing 35K. There is no recession when it comes to weddings.

Nothing against you but it's a quite astounding figure, but each to their own.