TV license inspector's aggressive manner

Lauren

Firstly sorry if this is a bit long winded..please bear with me..

I've just moved into my new apartment (yaaayyyy!). Last night the door buzzer rang (I'm on the top floor, someone was buzzing from the ground floor)...Thought it was my dad visiting but the guy on the other end introduced himself as from "An Post - TV Licence inspector".

He demanded to know if I was a new resident and what my name was...I was taken aback by his aggressive tone and alarm bells started to ring. Didn't give him my name initially but told him that as I'd only moved in I didn't have a tv. He said "I can't put you down as someone without a TV unless you prove it to me. buzz me in so I can come up".

I said "No" and made some feeble excuses about having a visitor and the place being a mess. He kept insisting on being allowed up until I firmly said "NO". He said "I'll put you down for having a tv since you won't prove it and you have until middle of March to get a license. I'll be back to check then".

I intend getting a tv and a license so theres no problem there. If I do, will he still come back or will he be able to tell I have a license from An Post records? I really don't want him (or anyone else) demanding to enter my apartment again (assuming he was who he said he was).

His aggressive tone scared me and I honestly didn't trust he was who he said he was. I have no way of seeing him (no camera) from my apartment and the only option would be to go downstairs and have a look at him through a glass door!

Am I being too paranoid here? Do other people (especially women in apartment complexes) have the same concern about verifying the identify of such allegedly 'official' visitors?

Re: TV License Inspector Approaches in Apartments

When you go down to buy your TV Licence, you should tell them exactly what happened so you can make a complaint. Have all the details like, date time etc, he might not even be working for them.