Tenants want a new iron?! Is this a slippery slope?!

B

Blueberry08

I just started renting out my house a few weeks ago and the tenants have already been quite petty about a few things (eg they asked me to buy a tube of glue so they could re-attach a corner of the front of a press door that had come loose - it was never loose before), and tonight they texted me to say the iron I left for them no longer works and they want me to replace it. I should add that it was fairly new (if only I could find the guarantee....) and was working fine the couple of times I used it.

Replacing the iron wouldn't cost me much, that's not the issue at all, I'm just beginning to sense that there'll be no end to requests like this.

I can't see anything in the contract that is detailed enough to cover something as minor as this, so what do you think? Is this normal? Should I just replace the iron and hope it's not a slippery slope?

On a wider issue - I don't want to offend anyone but they're on social welfare and I get the feeling from them they see me as an extension of that, ie that no matter how small an issue (eg tube of glue) they see it as my duty to look after everything for them. Again, is this common?

Thanks.

As a tenant I would probably go out and buy an iron but take it with me when I was leaving. Same for the glue but, in fairness, if they have very little money (and as social welfare tenants this is probably the case) maybe they can't afford to buy these things. A tube of superglue is nearly 10 euro. Cheapest iron about 15 euro. If you had 50 euro left over after bills and food would you spend 20% of it on someone elses house?

I would imagine if the inventory stated that they have an iron then you should replace the broken one. It could have been worse for the press. They might have made you come and fix it. And if they care about little things like that getting fixed it would lead to the assumption that they will take good care of the place as opposed to wrecking it.