Solicitor insists on letter of "No Audit" to release funds

Silver Turfer

I sold a property in Ireland in September last year,
the auctioneers have been paid
the solicitor has taken his cut
the Capital Gains Tax has been paid
I've had my accounts submitted and I'm all up to date for 2017.

But the solicitor I'm using is not prepared to release the funds to me until
he receives a letter of "No Audit" for CGT purposes as I am a non resident, living in England.

Is this normal?
If it is where can I find any information on this "Letter of No Audit" and who provides it?

Hi Mr McG,
So you have not heard of it either?
He suggests that the "revenue" provide it and although they provided me a letter on Friday saying that they were prepared to accept my return and the payment to cover.

But he written to them say he requires
"the standard letter of No audit for CGT purposes"

I'll carry on watching this post in case anyone else can shine light on it
:(

He's talking through his behind. There's no way Revenue are going to issue a letter confirming that such and such a return is or isn't going to be audited. It just doesn't work like that. Demand your money now!

I agree with DB74. This is something agreed between the Law Society and the Revenue. The solicitor has some type of secondary liability on the sale of a property for a non-resident. It kicks in particularly when the consideration in less than €500K as no CG50 is necessary.

Well guys this has been quite a useful forum for me, I can see why the solicitor has been hanging onto my money.
I feel that the procedure is quite opaque and it would have been good if he had spellt out the procedure.
If I understand it correctly he (the solicitor) has to ask the revenue to provide him with this letter/cert/note, I think he has finally written to the revenue to ask for it.
I've had an "all clear note" from the revenue but that was not good enough for him.