Networking Groups & Events?

colly

I've recently joined a new company, and I'm always on the lookout to network for new contacts and business opportunities. Are there any 'clubs' in Ireland that are designed for this purpose? Does anyone hold regular events to just get people together to discuss what they do and find new business opportunities? I work in the IT security industry and my company are currenlty seeking partners (and clients) - so anyone I meet could tuen into a business opportunity. Surely there are loads of people in similar situations that would welcome the chance to network?

I would appreciate any advise as to how to achieve this.
Thanks
Colly

I know of one in Cork that meets early in the city,before day starts.A friend of mine attended a couple but couldn't handle early starts!

JohnnyBoy, that's probably BNI - Business Network International - who meet early in the morning (7am), so people can get back to work or their business by 9am. Have a look at www.bni.com . There are chapters all over the country.

There is also Network Ireland which helps promote women in business (if this is relevant).

Another option would be the Chamber of Commerce who hold networking events for members.

I saw a feature on a south Dublin group in a publication by the Dun Laoghaire Rathdown chamber of commerce. I think it was lunchtime meetings.

I have found a site I used to be a member of years ago: www.firsttuesday.ie - it used to be a large group of wannabe dot com millionaires but is not something a little more realistic I think.

colly said:
I have found a site I used to be a member of years ago: www.firsttuesday.ie - it used to be a large group of wannabe dot com millionaires but is not something a little more realistic I think.
No events on their website since September '04

Plato have/had their own business park but they seem to be a bit of a dead duck...