Microsoft Office Word 2007

mrstayto

Hi guys,

My uncle bought a laptop recently with Word 2007 on it. Its totally different to the older Word programs that most people are used to. Is there any way of changing the view so it looks more like Word 2003?

He's attending a computer class (complete beginner) and they're being taught on Word 2003 so hes totally confused by the new one.

Failing that, what are the chances that we could send it back to Dell and swop it for the old Word? (I advised him to buy Word at the time, I didn't realize that the new one would be completely different)

Thanks in anticipation!

I can't believe someone is teaching such an old version of Word .....it would make more sense to get them to upgrade their teaching materials to the latest version than have a class full trying to downgrade. Once you get used to Word, it's all pretty much the same...

Dell won't be able to change it as they will only load on current versions

It may be possible to buy Word 2003 off the net, but Ithere's no guarantee its a legal copy or whether it will work concurrently with your uncle's Word 2007 installation.

Try a search with "Word+2003" in the search criteria.

Is there an option in Word 2007 preferences to preserve the look and feel of older versions of the software?

Sounds to me like you have microsoft works too. If it was on the laptop when you purchased it, it is most likely works. A pain if you type something in works and want to print it from another pc with word - possible but annoyimg.

I would say that it is definitely Word that the man has, and not Works. Just got Office 2007 myself and it looks completely different to the previous version. I consider myself quite computer literate and I'm having difficulties with Office 2007 myself!