Macbook or conventional laptop?

Boi

Hello everyone.I have 1000 euros to spend on a laptop.trying to decide what to get.I currently have toshiba bought 3 years ago and want to change(it is still working fine,just need something new).
can anyone recommend a good one?Also,i wonder if macbook/apple would be good.I have never used mac before,used windows all my life.
basically my questions are:
1) pros/cons of mac or windows laptops.
2)recommendations of a good one out there in the market.
3)going to new york next week-will it be cheaper to buy there,if so which store?should i be worried about after sales when i come back?
4)just incase i get mac,will i have problems viewing some programs stored/created with windows and vice versa? i do a lot of presentation-powerpoint.

my needs:
a)speed-hate a slow computer.
b) wireless
c) built in camera and microphone
d)HD capabilities
e)my other half may need to play computer games on it.
f)DVD re-writer
g)bluetooth would be a welcome bonus
h)my budget is flexible,want something that is really good and would last a long long time!
thanks in advance.

i got a MacBook last year, and would never go back to Windows again. It does take some getting used to though. I am very happy with it - the usabiliy, stability and speed are a different world from windows.

Don't get a MacBookAir if you want speed. The MacBookPro is the top of the range, the MacBook is in the middle.

If you know someone who works for Apple, they can get you a discount. Or anyone who is in education; students also get good discounts.

I got a standard macbook 2 months ago, after getting annoyed with pc laptops malfunctioning after 18 months, and love it. ( I am not blaming PCs, I readily admit it may be me). The macbook has never frozen on me, no error messages, starts up and shuts down nice and quickly and is quite easy to learn how to use once a used the tutorial on the apple website.