Accountant without a Practising Cert

Discussion in 'Askaboutbusiness' started by The Bishop, Aug 29, 2017.

1. The Bishop

The Bishop Frequent Poster

I hope this is the correct forum

I am an Accountant but never applied for a Practicing Cert as I have never needed it!! I have helped out a few friends with sole trader and farm accounts - just a friendly thing - no payment. However, I would like to take on a few clients - I know a few Start Ups and Farmers who need someone to do their book keeping and accounts - NOT VAT Registered and Do Not Employ anyone - just very simple accounts and Tax Returns to Revenue.

Is it OK for me to take on this work? I'm not offering "Accountancy Services" as such.

2. torblednam

torblednam Frequent Poster

What're the rules of your professional body?

Oh and by the way it's pretty obvious from your username what your actual name is.

3. The Bishop

Last edited: Aug 29, 2017
    Professional Body as far as I understand in order to Practice as an "Accountant" one needs a Practicing Cert but I'm not really practicing as an Accountant - more a book keeper really I'd say!!

OK on the Username :) How can I change my Username?

Last edited: Aug 29, 2017
  4. RedOnion

RedOnion Frequent Poster

Preparing accounts or tax returns goes beyond the definition of bookkeeping for ACCA.
    I can't speak for the other professional bodies, but for ACCA what you described in OP falls under definition of public practice, and requires a practicing cert.

5. The Bishop

Thanks - it's seems so unfair especially when anyone can do this type of work!! Thanks for your help

6. delfio

delfio Frequent Poster

Sure you nearly need an electrician's cert to wire a plug these days.

7. Redone

Redone Frequent Poster

You could resign from your professional body and then do the sideline gig. Not that I'd recommend it.

8. The Bishop