Your favourite way to take cash from your business

Amberleigh

Was a sole trader until v recently. Now running ltd company. Looking for ways to take money from business in tax efficient manner. A great resource for me has been talking to other business owners who all have little tips to go about doing this (like the €500 vouchers for example).

As a sole trader I am used to simply setting aside money for tax and living off what's left over, but now as company director I have been advised to take a salary of around 30k, which is enough to live on, but a lot lower than before, so looking for ways to supplement this.

What is your favourite hack for taking money from a business?

And maybe this doesn't exist, but are there any resources (blog, book etc) that provides an exhaustive list of the ways money may be taken out of a business by a director.

My accountant clutches her pearls every time I ask about this ¯\_(ツ)_/¯

Was a sole trader until v recently. Now running ltd company.

And what did the accountant or tax consultant who advised you to become a limited company advise?

Tax planning is not like removing wine stains from silk shirts. It's not question of hacks found on websites. It's something that should have taken place when you set up the company and which you should keep under review.

Brendan

Professional training
Justified equipment
Pension contributions
€1000 per year voucher per employee

Add travel expenses to that.
Thats debatable, depending on the contract.
For example if in IT contracting, if your "place of work" for the contract is Dublin, travel to and from that location is not an allowable expense.
If I need to go to Cork for an ad-hoc arrangement, that is allowable.
Accountant should advise on this.

Thats debatable, depending on the contract.
For example if in IT contracting, if your "place of work" for the contract is Dublin, travel to and from that location is not an allowable expense.