Would love some advice on my current financial situation!

Guelder

Hi all!

I'm currently a student and I would love to get some advice on how to manage my funds better, if anyone could point out any areas I could improve on that would be great, all opinions and feedback would be greatly appreciated! Thanks! :)

Spouse’s/Partner's age:
N/A

Annual gross income from employment or profession:
15,600 (However this should hopefully be increasing to 20,800 by the end of next year)

Annual gross income of spouse:
N/A

Type of employment: e.g. Civil Servant, self-employed:
Student

In general are you:
(a) spending more than you earn, or:
No
(b) saving?
Yes

Rough estimate of value of home: N/A

Amount outstanding on your mortgage: N/A

What interest rate are you paying? N/A

Other borrowings – car loans/personal loans etc: None

Do you pay off your full credit card balance each month? Not always - however I have recently set up a DD so it will be paid off in full from now on

If not, what is the balance on your credit card? 500

Savings and investments: approx. 40,000

Do you have a pension scheme? No

Do you own any investment or other property? No

Ages of children: N/A

Life insurance: No

What specific question do you have or what issues are of concern to you?

I'd like to know how I can best manage my funds, at present I have E300 per week, by late next year this should increase to E400 per week.

I'm looking to take driving lessons this year, buy a car, insure and tax it etc.. I'd just like to know that I should be able to afford the running costs of owning a car.

Also, I'd like to know how to best manage my savings (~40k) I don't know whether to invest it, leave it in a deposit account, buy prize bonds with it etc.. I do not need immediate access to it.