working with two other guys in a small business. Non compete clause

arry

Hi,

I am working with two other guys in a small business. We have been working a number of years together but now I want to leave (and take two clients). I signed a clause in agreement saying that I would not compete against the company (no mention of clients).

Does anyone know if these are enforceable. I am a architect living in dublin and effectively, any job I take outside of the current company would be competition. Is that not a restraint of trade?

Thanks in advance

Arry

Does the clause have a time limit?

It is restraint of trade. Most of those clauses are unenforceable in any event.

No time limit - is that good or bad?! It would seem, from what I have read, that open ended clauses like that are not really enforceable?

Thanks

There is a difference between just leaving and leaving and taking clients with you.

A clause with no defined time limit would be totally unenforceable.

Arry
When you signed the original clause, I am sure the other 2 guys signed the same clause, and you all agreed to it at that time.
If 2 clients want to move with you, I expect its because they already have a working relationship with you. (and your 2 friends would be aware of this)
Surely, the best option is to sit down and discuss your plans with your friends.
Why are you assuming they will want to go to law, if its as straightforward as you describe? ( How would you feel if one of the others took 2 clients ?

These two clients are our two largest accounts. We have maybe 15 clients, but these two contribute about 50% of turnover.

If I take them it will have a serious impact on the business. Given this I dont think that the news will just be accepted casually.

Surely if the clients want to move there is very little that your partners can do about this. Any client can change firm if and when they please. Just because they will be going with you doesn't really change that.