Working in self employment whilst drawing ARF annual distributions

Secondincommand

Not sure if I should have jumped in to the

Selling Sole Trader Business to Spouse but I didn't want to hijack the OP's thread.

Anyway , kind of a related issue . I am a part time sole trader with a moderate gross annual income of €15-€25k ,it varies up and down from year to year. (2019-€25k 2020-€35k , 2021=€30k , 2022- €25k ,2023-projected €19k)

In a previous company director self employment I built up a substantial ARF of €1.4 million. I am 61 next year so I am obliged to draw a mandatory 4% of this sum annually as per Company pension rules. If these values hold up , his would give me a 2023 ARF distribution income of €56,000 before tax , PRSI and USC leaving me with a nett income of approximately €40k ( correct me if I am wrong)

If I continue in my self employment gig from 1/1/23 am I right in saying I will pay 52% (tax, PRSI and USC) on everything I earn as a sole trader, even after already paying €16k deductions on my ARF mandatory distribution?

My wife currently helps in the business for free ( realistically , I won't exaggerate it for effect , she does about 10% of the work ( adminstration etc.).

Question is should I set up a partnership with her for her starting 1st January '23 ( or take her on as an employee) and do I have to pay her in proportion to the input she has in the business ( ideally of course I become the unpaid partner and she takes all the earnings but with the benefit of using up the increased tax credits and tax cut off thresholds.

If this is possible /an option is it acceptable to Revenue that I become an "unpaid " partner and my wife takes all future earnings , even though I do 90% of the work , or what would be an acceptable breakdown ?

Thanks in advance

Secondincommand

Who was it that said : “ there’s only two things certain in life and that’s death and taxes.?