Work Query - Decision to make

Winkie

Hello,

I'm Male, 45, two kids, Mortgage of 200k ish on tracker, investment property rented out and paying majority of mortgage. I work for a SME and my wife is self employed.

Longer term situation is that my wife's family is wealthy and we will inherit assets that will leave us comfortable, kids college and savings are already sorted. (Kids 8 + 11).

I work in Sales - not managerial but in key account management. I never had huge salary nor people management experience. I am now on 38K a year for past three years, going to 41K in Sept. Commission structure and company is all over the place and deeply dis-organised which stresses me out. T

The potential for career development is non existent within my current job. I went for a career coaching block of sessions and they were great - I'm being taken advantage of, can do better etc.... so I looked at a few sales roles and got on well in interviews but they either paid the same (sideways move) or required management experience (have none but work well in my team) or they require a commute to Dublin (I live 1.5 hours south of Dublin) so that will affect my work life balance.

I don't know what to do next career-wise - my wife says just relax and do the minimum (everyone else does so in my company with little reward so there is a culture of just doing minimum) and enjoy life knowing that we are financially well off in the long term but I am so pissed off at lack of progress, fairness and as I see it my inability to progress.

Do I: 1. stay and learn to let it wash over me, 2. challenge for more money or 3. go and retrain in tech or data or IT and earn more?

Thank you to anyone who has read thus far and can offer advice.

Don't know what industry you work in, but i'm on similar money but vastly different work.