where to get Mortgage Repayment Protection/redundancy insurance

deeobrien

Hi,

I'm buying my first house and I'm trying to decide whether to get Mortgage Repayment protection insurance or not. I've read a lot of the posts and I understand the difference between Mortgage Protection and Mortgage Repayment Protection. I already have my mortgage protection set up with Eagle Star.

I'm trying to investigate independant Salary insurance providers. The area I'm mainly interested in is Redundancy cover as I have good sickness insurance at work. I am buying the house on my own and I work in the IT industry where redundancy is not uncommon.

Does anybody know any insurance companies that provide redudancy income protection? Or is the MRP offered by my lender the only choice for that? I've searched on line but I can only find products for mortgage protection (life cover etc).

I know I have to read the small print but I want to see what's out there in this area to make my decision.

Thanks,
Deirdre

Sickness & redundancy cover can be provided by the lender but it is expensive and usually only covers you for a maximum of 1 year. Also, you amy only have 1 month from drawing down your mortgage to decide to take out this cover.

You say you have sickness cover with your job but you shouldn't be too dependent on that - you said yourself that redundancy within your employment sector is not uncommon so you may not always have this cover. As far as I know none of the life assurance or general insurance companies in Ireland offer both sickness and redundancy cover in the one policy, but I could be wrong on this.

I will pm you details of a company based in the UK that ofer this cover though and how you can arrange it here.