What will happen to me - will I end up in jail?

C

clare

Hi,

I'm new to this site. I need help/advice. I have a loan with BOI. I had payment protection on it. My job contract came to an end. I found out payment protection didn't cover someone on a contract. I lived in Dublin and was in full time employment. I made repayments of EUR230 per month. All that changed 2 years ago. I became pregnant and moved to the West of Ireland where I still reside. My child is almost two. I couldn't find work for ages. I have been working part time for last 8 months. I came to an arrangement with BOI that I would pay them EUR30 per month. I have been doing this for over a year now. My original loan was EUR10,000. I lodged EUR5,000 recently. My branch manager said that the loan would be restructured. But I found out that BOI will not restructure the loan and expect me to pay the original amounts of EUR230 per month. I have now received a letter from BOI saying that they are referring the matter to their solicitors. I am worried sick. I have no prospect of getting full time work and certainly not at the same rate as I was paid in Dublin.

What can I do? What happens when the matter is handled by solicitors?
Will I end in court or go to jail?

Please please, any advice?

Thanks

Have a look at the key topics at the top of this forum which include some useful tips and resources for dealing with debt. Try contacting MABS for advice and assistance. That's what they're there for.