What to charge for grinds?

H

highway

Hi,
I am in the mid west, and have been approached out of the blue for 3rd level grinds in computer programming and networking, both of which I can do, as i work in the IT business and have lots of experience and very recent training in the particular programming language.

I've not done this before, and am being advised to charge €30 for the weekly hour to cover prep work, getting to know the relevant course, etc, which will take more than an hour a week overall.

It seems steep to me, but wanted to see what others thought. To be honest, I'm very busy as it is (family, job, farm, and distance learning) and am not sure if I am that interested, but am curious to give it a try, as it might open some doors, and give me some useful experience. I've always enjoyed explaining technology, etc to anyone who'll listen!

Anyway, opinions welcome.

Highway.

I know a 2nd yr student who gave grinds in economics at 3rd level to 1st years and he was charging 30 per hour also, based in Cork City.
HTH

Think €30 an hour too low. My doctor charges €50 for 20 minutes. However you say your not that interested to begin with so you might not be doing the student any favours. What if you lose all interest after a few lessons. Might be better to refer them to someone else.

I've heard of (non-Dublin based) honours maths grinds going for €50/hr. Back in tiger days mind.

Theod: I wouldn't compare myself (or any grinds) to a doctors profession. Fair point on the interest aspect though. I think maybe I'm more worried about my ability to educate this person than lack of interest. Easy to just say no to these things. I see what your saying about possibly pulling out after a while, but if I never try it I'll never know.

Tiger: I think those were tiger prices all right. Seem €30 is reasonable now though.

Highway.

i pay 25e or 30e (different teachers) for an hours hons irish leaving cert grind.