What had Tony Blair to gain?

S

shnaek

Maceface asked in the post on the US what Tony Blair had to gain by rowing in with the US in the Iraq war. I have pondered this question a lot, so I thought I'd start a new thread on it to get peoples opinion on the matter.

For my part I am lost on this. I do consider Tony Blair a good man, and a decent leader, but his steadfast support of Bush and the war certainly has me confused.

Maybe Michael Moore was right when he said someone should make a Farenheit 9/11 on Blair too, or at least investigate his reasoning on this issue.

I do consider Tony Blair a good man, and a decent leader, but his steadfast support of Bush and the war certainly has me confused

It has a lot of people confused...which is why Bush often feels most of the wrath.

The answer, personally speaking isn't that difficult. Blair, much like Clinton is a charismatic man. He is a lawyer by trade and his party has taken spin to new heights over the term of his government.

What makes you think Blair's reasons are any different to Bush's?
Is it because he speaks so genuinely?

Blair

Agree Piggy about the manner in which Blair speaks, it can often lead to him engulfing people into his way of thinking. As you know my view on America (which is not a steadfast belief that they are whiter than white,but i appreciate what they have done for our nation.) However i am very sceptically as to Why Blair is so much behind Bush on so many issues. Clearly we will never know what goes on at board room level..

But i do feel he is honest in many ways and he is most likely trying his hardiest to keep his country safe from a terrorist attack.. As much as i dislike some Brits i would hate to see such an attack on their country.

Blair & Bush

Interesting to note Blair is sending Peter Hain and a delegation to meet with the John Kerry campaign in the US.