What can I write off against tax

Ron Burgundy

i'm just in the process of reginstering as a sole trader, i work in the PAYE sector during the day and dj at the weekend.

now this is all new to me so i was wondering what can i write off against tax, i know the term is probably wrong but i mean what outgoings can i put against the business, some examples.

diesel, tolls, hotels, meals, mobile phone, house phone and broadband.

my industry is wide, so i can add cd players, av equipment etc as well.

any information would be great, i want to do as much as i can without professional fees:eek:

Hi there,

Just on one point, re: your home phone bill & broadband, you can only claim the difference between your phone bill & broadband before you started working as a sole trader and phone bill after. E.g. if you normal phone bill is €80, now goes up to €100 due to increased usage, you can claim on the extra €20 only.

Ron Burgundy said:
i want to do as much as i can without professional fees:eek:
I used to operate as a sole trader and would strongly recommend that you get an accountant because you will have to file returns. They are also best placed to advise you on what you can claim as an expense.

If you are working away and have to stay over night then you can claim an overnight allowance, it was around 120 euro a night a couple of years ago so be sure to ask them about that!

askalot said:
If you are working away and have to stay over night then you can claim an overnight allowance, it was around 120 euro a night a couple of years ago

Yes if you are a company director, but most definitely not if you are self-employed!

Just goes to show the importance of getting proper advice on all the potential complications of self-employment.

we didn't have broadband, plus its a standard fee per month. but i do intend to employ an accountant but i want to have as much work done as possible to lower the amount of hours i need to pay him/her for.