Key Post What can I do about debt I can’t afford to repay – I don’t own a house.

Brendan Burgess

Founder
I have no direct experience of this, so corrections are welcome. It is meant to be a simple introduction and is not designed to cover all exceptions etc.

The Debt Relief Notice is designed for you if…

You owe less than €35,000

You are unable or struggling to meet the repayments on this debt

You don’t own your own home or any other property

You don’t have any other assets such as investments worth more than €1,500 (The main exception is that you can own a car worth up to €5,000)

For example

You have a Credit Union loan of €15,000 and €10,000 on your credit card.

You lost your job and are on social welfare.

You won’t be able to repay your debts over the next three years

The DRN is not suitable for you

If you own your own home – check out the Personal Insolvency Arrangement

You owe more than €35,000 – check out bankruptcy

If you can pay, pay... but if are on Social Welfare, you should not be going without to repay unpayable debts.

The DRN is not designed to help people who can afford to pay their debts to avoid doing so.

It is designed for people whose circumstances have change and/or who have got themselves into a hole, they can't otherwise get out of. Don't compromise your ability to pay for food, electricity and rent, so that you can pay your credit card or the Credit Union.

How it works

Go to MABS who will check if you are eligible. You can call them on 081807 2000

They will sign a statement saying you are eligible and will send your application to the Insolvency Service of Ireland

If The ISI is happy it will issue a certificate to that effect and send it on to the Circuit Court.

The Court will review the application and and will issue a Debt Relief Notice

How much will it cost me?
Nothing

What happens during the next three years?

You don't pay anything to your creditors.

Your creditors will not be allowed to take any action.