VHI Increase

rochs

I am considering moving from VHI to another insurer due to the dramatic increase in premiums. I am in Plan B Options.
I have been with VHI for over 40 years and never made a claim for myself or my family for 30 years.
It is now only my Wife and myself,as you will gather from above we are moving on in age. We have some claims in recent years,however the new charges are something to be seriously considered.
I am now over 70 years so I'm not a good prospect for a new Insurer, why should they take me on when VHi have the best years out of me.

If i was accepted by another insurer is it safe for me to move or should i bite the Bullet and pay the increase to VHI.

Regards
rochs

All insurers are obliged to accept anyone who is currently with another insurer (or anyone under 65 even if they have never had insurance) regardless of age or health status so you should have no concerns about being a good or bad prospect. I think it is a very good idea for you to shop around for the best price for the cover you want - and it seems unlikely that this is VHI at the moment.

All insurers are obliged to accept anyone who is currently with another insurer (or anyone under 65 even if they have never had insurance) regardless of age or health status so you should have no concerns about being a good or bad prospect. .

Age only comes into the equation in relation to waiting periods. Everyone is entitled to take out any health insurance plan but may be subect to waiting periods. If waiting periods have been served with another insurer, these will be recognised by other insurers at the same level of cover. e.g those on Plan B, Plan B Options can take out Level 2 Hospital with Aviva or Essential Plus with Quinn (or similar policies at the same level), without any waiting period. The exception will be where a policy only covers 90% cover (eg cardiac cover in a high tech hospital) and you move to a policy that has 100% cover.