Vat on commercial rent

R

rooney

Hi all,
I have currently entered a sub lease arrangement on a commercial premises. It is a nine year lease . I am the tenant. My sub landlord ,who happen to be an estate agency have been invoicing me for rent plus vat.
I am a sole trader, and not registered for vat, therefore I cannot claim the vat back.
Is there anyway of getting around this or am I just stuck with paying this vat that I cannot claim back. Does the sub landlord have to charge the vat?
Your advice greatly appreciated.

Revenue info' doesn't explain if there a way round it for OP .

I had this problem as a nonVAT registered travel agency and the only way round was to create a VAT registered property company which renetd from the LL.
The so-called property company of mine then let the premises to my travel agency.

Bloody stupid really and a lot of paperwork and accounting fees but in those days leases of ten years plus all carried VAT, and renting a few shops meant a lot of VAT I couldn't claim back without that rather phoney device of a "property company."

Thanks oldnick, the vat amounts to about 3000 euro so over over 9 years it will be 27k. Ill have a chat with my accountant re the feasability of doing as you say.

Do check -I'm recounting what was really a fiddle to avoid unfair VAT payments on four shops 15-25 years ago. My accountants- one of the big companies -were always telling me that Revenue could one day close what was a rather obvious ploy to avoid -evade?- VAT.

Things are probably stricter now -and rules may be different; plus, EU rules play a much bigger role.

Do check -I'm recounting what was really a fiddle to avoid unfair VAT payments on four shops 15-25 years ago. My accountants- one of the big companies -were always telling me that Revenue could one day close what was a rather obvious ploy to avoid -evade?- VAT.

Things are probably stricter now -and rules may be different; plus, EU rules play a much bigger role.