US Federal income tax withheld

barryom76

Hello. I am a resident of Ireland. I recently sold shares I had since I worked with a US company (I've never lived in the US). My 2016 Consolidated Form 1099 shows that there was Federal income tax withheld. Now having contacted UBS I was informed that this tax was withheld because I did not have a valid tax form on file at the time of the merger (the company I had shares with, EMC, merged with DELL) and I need to contact the IRS. .

I tried several times to ring the IRS asking for advice and each time I have been put on hold while the person I spoke with looked for the appropriate form or tried to link me through to another department (taking a LONG time) and each time my queries went unanswered and the line went dead.

I would appreciate any advice/assistance as how to retrieve the withheld tax.

Regards,
Barry

You probably had tax withheld because a W8-Ben wasn't completed by your or on your behalf. I'm not familiar with a Form 1099 but it sounds like a certificate of tax deducted at source. Google obtaining a refund of tax withheld in US and Form 1099 and see what you get. I would say that you should be able to do this yourself without paying anyone to do it. Having limited experience of the IRS they are very bureaucratic and you need to speak to precisely the right section which can be hard to find. You may need to obtain a taxpayer identification number (a TIN I think) but the tax refund form (if you find it) may tell you that.