Unpaid salary

S

stromburg

I've been working for a small startup company for 20 months or so now. The company began experiencing a deterioration in cashflow due to a lack of sales and lack of private capital investment during the spring of this year. The cashflow reduced to such a level that salary payments were initially paid late and ultimately missed altogether resulting in a backlog of salary amounts being owed to me and at least one other employee within the company.

I am now owed approx 4.5 months of salary. I checked with employment rights body and discussed the option of resigning due to breach of employer/employee contract , wage act which really means constructive dismissal because I am enduring conditions so far outside my terms of contract that I have no other option than to resign (or alternatively by staying I'd be somehow accepting these terms).

I know that my chances of being paid the backpay are slimmer than I would hope given that I think that the company is more likely to slide into insolvency at the moment than be rescued by some angel investor who could reflate the companies longer term prospects of surviving or at least getting off the runway.

Has anyone been in similar circumstances or can offer advice ?

Don't ever work for free.
I would start looking for paid employment ASAP.

Nobody is investing in startups right now unless its a slam-dunk guaranteed winner with bells on.
So if there are no pipeline sales then you need to get out in the market asap and find another job, this company is a goner.
What has the company's approach been on this? I presume it is a reasonably small outfit, so do you know has everybone been treated like this? Is there a firm of accountants that your company deals with - it may be worth contacting them directly.
One thing I would be concerned about is if the company have been so flippant in relation to your salary, have they been paying the appropriate PAYE and PRSI submissions to revenue on your behalf?