Unfair 'informal' grievance treatment

TimTheTailor

Hi all,
Long time listener, first time poster.

I'm a manager in an IT company, and am currently trying to deal with some 'informal' grievances being raised against me by a direct report, in relation to racial discrimination.

The background of this individual is well documented with HR, in the past 12 months this person has been on a PIP due to poor performance, was demoted by a previous manager, has had both informal and formal warnings following grievance and disciplinary process relating to issues related to run in's with other team members. The individual in question is on a reduced work load due to poor performance, they believe this to be unfair, however giving her additional workload introduces additional risk which neither I nor VP believe we can take (plus the fact that we believe we would be setting this person up for failure, so trying to protect them here also). Everything to date has been documented formally with HR, and pay and workload discussions have been agreed up to VP level. After receiving no pay rise, the individual is now trying to make a claim of discrimination and unfair treatment.

I have the detail and supporting evidence to stand behind every action I've taken with this individual, and there is enough formal evidence directly with HR to reflect the general situation. I am continuing to gather this data and evidence, and I'm happy to provide - but yet it remains informal conversations. I would like to think HR have enough common sense to see what is happening, and unfortunately this person is in a bad place, is failing to recognise their performance and attitude needs to change, and is now lashing out in a survival attempt.

I have suggested to both HR and my management that I am happy for this to be dealt with formally, as I believe the claims are of a degree that warrant this. I would also prefer to see more rigour applied to the discussion and format.