Unemployment Benefit after Maternity Benefit?

Status
Not open for further replies.
H

holly32

Just wondering if anyone has been able to claim unemployment benefit after their maternity leave?

I have decided to leave my job as I just cant bare to leave my 4mth old into a creche and I have no family near me to look after him. Work has kindly agreed to give me a letter to say they had to let me go due to "a downturn in business". I will then pretend to be looking for full time employment. I know this is dishonest but I have been paying tax for the last 15 years and feel that 18 weeks maternity leave is ridiculous.

The government should be trying to get mothers to stay at home with their little ones in these precious years not forcing them to be apart. It will be a real struggle to survive if I dont get it and I feel this is so unfair because I have been paying tax for so many years & will start paying tax again when my son is older and I go back to work.

Anyway before I waffle on anymore I'm just wondering should I go ahead and apply for unemployment benefit or not? Will it look suspecious? Did anyone do this & suceed in getting it?

If you are not available for and genuinely seeking work then you don't qualify for Unemployment Benefit/Assistance no matter what reasons for termination your employer gives. Dissatisfaction with the existing tax and welfare rules is no excuse for engaging in evasion or fraud. Please don't seek assistance in doing this here on AAM. If you think the system is unfair then lobby your elected representatives or stand for office yourself. You may be entitled to other tax and welfare benefits. This thread outlines some of the more common ones: Common PAYE tax credits and reliefs