underfloor heating causes black mold on skirting boards

flooringissues

Hi,

I am moving into a new house soon, and it will have underfloor heating throughout ground floor.
System is water based, pipes embedded in concrete screed.

The builder has told us we can not put down wooden flooring of any type.
The wood acts an insulator and will cause black mold to form on the skirting boards.

He advised us that tile is best, but can even use carpet or vinyl.

I have no experience of UFH systems, but it seems strange to me that carpet is ok to use and wood is not. Especially since both choices have very similar tog values.

Has anyone experience of putting down wooden floors and then having problems with mold forming?

I know someone who has UFH on the ground floor of a house built about 6 years now. He has engineered oak floors everywhere except the bathrooms and has solid oak skirting everywhere. No issues with the floors or mould that I am aware of.

There are lots of articles on google about UFH and wooden floors, for example this one from a large manufacturer of wooden flooring. [broken link removed]

That is interesting JohnJay, as builder told us since its a new houes, a3 rating, it's super warm
and that will cause black mold to form quicker than seen in older houses.

I have found a lot of material online about it... but i don't know who to trust.
I go on to one website and it states you can't use hardwood, the next says you can.
Often the websites are sellers or have some interest in pushing their agenda/viewpoint,
so I am not sure I can take them at their word!

Go to a carpet retailer website, and they say carpet is great
go to wood one, and they say wood is fine.

One independent (seemingly) said that wood could be used but had to be very cautious to prevent moisture
damage. i.e. let the subfloor and wood acclimatise over a few weeks.

So just interested in any real world experience people have had with it.