Unable to pay mortgage for 2 years starting end of this year - what will happen?

S

Sutton1

Hi all,

I have had a mortgage for 4 years now. I pay 1,200 Euro a month. I have never defaulted on a payment. I have been working in the same fulltime job for 6 years now.

I am going to be returning to full-time education at the end of this year which requires 2 years full-time compulsory attendance in order to acquire my qualification.

I am not familiar with the whole ''banking'' sphere but I am wondering how would I go about putting off paying my mortgage for 2 years? Is it something that can be done? What process will I have to go through?

Please can someone answer me in a simple manner and give me some advice?

Thank you so much.

I have not quit my job.

I am not going back to college.

I will be training for circa 2 years in order to become a Barrister but it will be unpaid (9 months classroom work and a little over a year's 'apprenticeship' type work).

If you must know, there was a plan in place for me to move back home and rent out my house, but that option has now fallen through.

Last edited by a moderator:
Then you will have to change your other plan as well, I would suggest. It would seem to me that you cannot afford to take a year without a salary.

You could ask your bank if they will give you an additional mortgage to fund your studies, but I think it's unlikely that they will do so.

Brendan

Thank you for your advice but what happens to all these people who have lost their jobs and are unable to pay their mortgage for months on end? I read all the time that arrangements are made in order to facilitate them.

P.S. I don't need funds to fund my training. I just need relief on my mortgage payments until I am qualified!