Timing Belt questions

killarneyguy

Does the timing belt in a car have to be replaced every 60,000miles?

Is this standard for all cars or do some cars vary?

i am no expert, but depends on the year and make of car.
i would get it done @ 50k to be on safe side, mechanic i know have their own car done @45K. if a timing belt broke..it can do bad damage to the engine..from my real experience...bent valve, blown head gasket..and easily cost over €1000 to get it fix if they can fix it..(worst case is a new engine)
yes most mechanic can tell you wat need to be changed.

only thing i can tell u the earlier its done the better, unfortunately that money need to be spend
i am sure the Expert out here can give u a much detailed answer than mine!

good luck

I Dont know a whole lot about it but it think it has to be changed after a certain amount of miles, or 5 yrs, which ever comes first.
If it breaks while your on the road it will result in repairs of several thousand €'s.
I think a mechanic can tell if its "taught", damaged, worn etc or not but they mainly go by the miles or time since it was last done. You should be able to get it done for less than €500.

It's best practice to have the timing belt changed around 50k-60k miles. It's a costly job as the front of the car must taken off to access the area. I've a VW golf with 47k miles, my VW garage did advise me at my last service that a timing belf change would be due at the next service at 55k.

Even if you were to sell the car second hand, not having the timing belt done at the suggested mileage would certainly effect it's resale value.

Hi,I have same question, buying Renault Scenic 40k miles, garage says doesnt have to be changed until 60k however my own mechanic says I should get them to do it now before sale. Who's right? Thanks