Text books to CDs

Airtight

I am studying at the moment as part of my CPD (continual professional development). I drive almost 3 hours a day and would like to use this time productively.

If I could get my text books and study material converted to audio I could use my driving time as study time.

What is the best way of converting my text books to CD?

Using the titles / authors, try a search for audio books.

Other than that you are looking at scanning the books to text files of some kind and using a text-to-speech program to produce audio files (a long-winded process that may infringe copyrights).

I have tried searching the internet for audio books. I have even the ISBN for each book but no success.

What software would you recommend that I use to convert text to speech?

Do you think it would be impractical to record my own voice reading the text?

Personally, I think it would be impractical, and unless you're a good actor you'll probably risk sending yourself to sleep at the wheel.

Maybe you could get a bus or train and read the actual books?

You will waste more time trying to do what you are suggesting than you will gain by doing it. To give youo an idea download Microsoft Reader for free and try a few of the free e-books then get it to read some free text - do you see what I mean?

Check with your local library to see if they have the audio books. If not, they might be able to order them in for you from other libraries. Also, check with the library of the relevant professional institution. Audio-books are very useful for many people with vision impairments, so you may well find them via the libraries.