Teacher's superannuation question

paddybarry

Hi all,
Im 32 years and have been teaching for last 6 years (first 4 privately paid and last two by dept).

I have a 4 year degree.

In order to get full benefit of the superannuation on my retirement am i correct in saying that i need to buy back 5 years of notional service?

My confusion lies in reading on other threads where some are claiming two years for having a four year degree (i have not come across this in my reading into the scheme). Thus on retirement if i back 5 years i will receive 150% my final salary and a pension of 50%?

Thanks for the help.

You could have joined the scheme during those 4 privately paid years.

It is always much cheaper to buy back actual service than notional service.

Ring the post-primary superannuation section at the DES.

The 4 year degree issue is of no relevance to you. Previously, with 35 years service (including 2 years for 4 years of training) teachers could retire at 55. This option has been withdrawn from new starters (of whom you are one).

thanks for that. i was only informed of that this past year. btw whose responsibility would you deem it to be to inform teachers of this? school steward?

so i need to buy back 4 years actual service and only 1 year notional?

thanks agin you have been a great help

It is always much cheaper to buy back actual service than notional service.

quote]
Sorry for butting in on this post but I taught for 11 hours Eligible Part Time plus 11 part time hours in 1995, I've purchased these 11 EPT hours through the PCW buyback scheme, Does this mean I can purchase the 11 part time hours (actual service) cheaper rate than Notional Purchase?

im not a 100% sure but i dont think you can buy the service back when you were paid by the school

im not a 100% sure but i dont think you can buy the service back when you were paid by the school