tax on share dividends

C

cochese

I own shares in a few US multinationals upon which i receive dividends (very small amounts, usually less than €10 a go). When I receive my notification of dividends from my on-line broker I note that 15% tax is deducted in the US and a further 20% in Ireland. I understand that one is allowed to make a profit of €1000 from shares per year without having to pay tax so am I allowed claim back the tax from either jurisdiction?

I have been receiving these dividends for the past 5 years or so. Should I have been declaring these to revenue on some form or other (I assumed I wouldn't have to seeing as tax was being deducted and handed over to revenue by the broker) and if so do I have to do it on an annual basis or can I send in details covering the previous few years - somewhat similar to reclaimimg medical expenses?

cochese said:
I own shares in a few US multinationals upon which i receive dividends (very small amounts, usually less than €10 a go). When I receive my notification of dividends from my on-line broker I note that 15% tax is deducted in the US
You probably should have returned a US IRS W-8BEN form via your broker to avoid US witholding taxes.
US and a further 20% in Ireland.
This is probably Irish [broken link removed]. Dividend income is assessable for income tax at the shareholder's marginal rate. In the case of a 42% taxpayer paid dividends net of DWT s/he can claim a tax credit and just pay the 22% excess.
I understand that one is allowed to make a profit of €1000 from shares per year without having to pay tax
You are probably thinking of the annual CGT allowance of €1,270. This is irrelevant here since dividends are subject to income tax. The CGT allowance is only relevant when you sell shares for a gain and are calculating your CGT liability.
I have been receiving these dividends for the past 5 years or so. Should I have been declaring these to revenue on some form or other
Yes.