Tax Free Lump Sum Question Please

sidzer

I am a teacher and I am planning on CNER - age 57 or 58 in 4 / 5 yrs time. I will have approx. 37 yrs at 58.

I understand that if I have 40 years service I would get a tax free lump sum of 150% of my final salary.

If I retire with less than 40 years the Tax Free Lump Sum would be less than 150%.

My question is - can I make up the difference through an AVC. Or is the 150% tax free only possible with maximum 40yrs service?

Thanks - Sidzer

I am a teacher and I am planning on CNER - age 57 or 58 in 4 / 5 yrs time. I will have approx. 37 yrs at 58.

I understand that if I have 40 years service I would get a tax free lump sum of 150% of my final salary.

If I retire with less than 40 years the Tax Free Lump Sum would be less than 150%.

My question is - can I make up the difference through an AVC. Or is the 150% tax free only possible with maximum 40yrs service?

Thanks - Sidzer

If you take CNER at 58 with 37 years service you lump sum will be reduced to about 96%. Let's say your pensionable salary is €80,000. With 37 years salary the lump sum at NRA would be €111,000 but this would be reduced to about €106,000 under CNER.

Revenue will allow you to use an AVC to top this up but, because you are retiring before NRA, they will not allow you to top it up to the full €120,000. I think the formula for the Revenue max in this case would be €120,000 * 37/39 = €114,000. So Revenue would allow you to top up by €8,000 from an AVC (114,000-106,000). 39 years being the years service you would have had if you had continued to NRA - 60)

am a teacher and I am planning on CNER - age 57 or 58 in 4 / 5 yrs time. I will have approx. 37 yrs at 58.

Are you a pre 95 entrant? If so teachers can retire early from age 55 once you have 33/34 years service without actuarial reduction.