Taking The Plunge Into Investing - Any Thoughts On My Strategy

justme

Hi All,

Recently my financial situation changed for the better and I had money to invest as a result. I'm new to investing and was too cautious to go it alone, so I have an amount of money being invested on my behalf with a professional broker which is split between 2 actively managed options. However, I don't like the fees I'm paying (1.5%, when you do the maths over 15years it's a lot to pay!). I'm going to give it a go myself with an online account and leave the two run side by side for a few years and see how they compare.

I'm going to set aside 250K for this experiment. I already have small accounts going with Interactive Brokers, Degiro and Saxo. I've just been playing around with small amounts to see how I like them. So I'll pick one of them and then my plan is just to keep it simple. I'm going to spread 250K across Berkshire-B, JAM Investment Trust and maybe one other, I'm avoiding ETF's because of the taxes. Then, I'm just going to leave it alone and see what happens. I'm looking at this as 15-20 year investment

I'm already set up financially. I have a nice, regular, relatively passive income. I own my house and I have some property etc. with no loans and a small new company starting up making a few quid. If I lose all this money, it won't hugely effect my life. I'm not including that info as a brag, it's just to add context to the post and point out that I know investing is a gamble, but it's one I can afford to take. If things go really bad, I'll be okay.

I'm intentionally trying to keep it as simple as possible. I'm not looking for very specific advice on here (although it's welcome). I suppose I'm just throwing my strategy out there like someone would ask a friend to proof read a proposal / presentation to see if I have omitted any thing important.

Thanks for taking the time to read.

Last edited: