stay at home single mum

caoilann

Hi all

I have after serious thought, endless childcare issues not to mention permanent exhaustion decided to pack in the 3 hour commute and 10 hour days to stay at home with my baby, may look at part time to keep me sane but I am a complete novice when it comes to benefits/taxes etc. any advice is much appreciated - I own my house and have a hefty mortgage so I plan to rent rooms or have students to help financially, I get minimum child support from X court ordered but the lowest amount!! I am aware of one parent family and medical card but is there anything else that can help?

Thanks very much

Contact CitizensInformation on 1890 777121 for more on your entitlements perhaps?

If you quit work this tax year then see if you are entitled to any tax back:

Form P50 - First Claim for Repayment During Unemployment

Obviously you can avail of the owner occupier rent a room scheme to collect up to €7,620 p.a. rental income tax free but I guess you know that already.

I get minimum child support from X court ordered but the lowest amount!!

Your circumstances have or are about to change so if the father of your child can afford it you could go back to court to seek a higher maintenance award.

cant am locked into it as bought the x out and am caught by capital gains or something similar for a few years also love it and the area and my child is happy all the usuals if i can make it work i will try!

basically covered what i am entitled to one parent family payment, FIS if working part time, medical card, supplementary payment between ending work and starting on welfare and mortgage relief on the interest paid which is discrectionary but still good to be aware as when tied into the childcare cycle its impossile to see a choice especially as a single parent home owner - Txs for your suggestions/advice