Split SSIA lump sump investment in Regular Saver Accounts

M

mm12

Hi,
I am looking to get advice on investing my SSIA (about 20k) for approximately 1 year to 18 months, reason being I would like to buy a house in the future but don't want to tie up the money longterm.

I wanted to ask whether it would be feasible to open multiple regular saver accounts and have them take the contributions from my SSIA funds (in my current a/c) over that length of time?

Please forgive the below approximations, I am not very good with figures.

I've looked at the options for investing the lump sum with Rabo and Northern Rock - approx 4.75% or thereabouts for the year. One of the posts showed approx €800 gain on 20k invested for a year.

The regular saver rates look more attractive - Halifax @ 6.65% for example, max of €750 a month would mean €9000 invested over a year - interest of approx €500.
Combine this with similar with BOI @ 6.25%, max of €1000 a month would mean €12000 invested with interest of approx €700.

Add up the interest from both and you get about €1200 - am I way off the mark here or is this something that could be done? If so, would it be feasible?

Thanks.

The regular saver rates look more attractive - Halifax @ 6.65% for example, max of €750 a month would mean €9000 invested over a year - interest of approx €500.
This is wrong. See here for example. On a similar basis using the same calculator €750 per month for 12 months into this account yields €321 interest gross or €257 net of DIRT.
Combine this with similar with BOI @ 6.25%, max of €1000 a month would mean €12000 invested with interest of approx €700.
No - using the calculator again it's actually c. €402 gross or €322 net.
Add up the interest from both and you get about €1200 - am I way off the mark here or is this something that could be done? If so, would it be feasible?