Speeding Summons - Pay up or attend Court and plead a case

NeoJuris Rex

hello there,

I got done speeding last June - going 109km in 100km zone just past Kill - N7. The speeding fine notice was sent to my rental accommodation and landlord sent it on to my work - As I work as as a teacher I didnt get to open it until 1st September. I have since gotten an email from him to confirm that I had moved out and he sent it on the post.
I have since received a summons last week for a court date in December. (the summons, which I signed for, aslo had the wrong eircode).

So my query is should I got to court and contend that I didnt get the fixed penalty notice and therefore had no option to pay the initial 80 euro fee and take my chances ....or drop into the local garda station up to 7 days before the court date and pay 160 euros plus the 3 penalty points.

Any feedback from those of you in the know would be sincerely appreciated.

Thanks

Neo

So my query is should I got to court and contend that I didnt get the fixed penalty notice and therefore had no option to pay the initial 80 euro fee
You mean should your perjure yourself?
I think you the answer to that question.
or drop into the local garda station up to 7 days before the court date and pay 160 euros plus the 3 penalty points.
Sounds like a better option to me.

Even better would be to get legal advice from a solicitor who deals with such offences.

You mean should your perjure yourself?
I think you the answer to that question.
She didn't get the original Fixed Penalty Notice because s/he had moved out of their accommodation and the landlord had sent it on to their school (which was presumably closed for the Summer holidays).

She didn't get the original Fixed Penalty Notice because s/he had moved out of their accommodation and the landlord had sent it on to their school (which was presumably closed for the Summer holidays).