Sole Trader Query

Zapatista

Hi all,

If I become a sole trader and register as self employed can I use the word company to describe how I do business. In other words can I say Bills Books is a small book delivery company if I am a sole trader who delivers books?

Zapa.

I don't think so. You can register "Bill's Books" as a business name while a sole trader but AFAIK you cannot describe yourself as a company without incorporating the business as a seperate entity from yourself. There are a number of company types, as you probably know, and you can find more about that [broken link removed].

Thanks Extopia,

I'm certainly no expert but I know the basics when it comes to the different types of ownership but this issue seems to be an uncertainty as far as I can see on most business advice websites.

The reason I ask is because I'm currently working on my own website for what will be my own web design "company". I will be a sole trader but I would like to say on the website that "business name" is a small web design company. I think it would give me a lot more credibility but obviously I won't use the term if its not appropriate to do so.

Hmmmm such a minor detail shouldn't be the my main concern at this stage but I am very curious :confused:

Zapa.

I'm in the same position as you, set-up as a self-employed web/graphic designer in January. But to be honest I actually didn't find it to be a handicap that people knew I was a one-man-band.

If you want you can refer to your design company as a 'business'. That way you're not doing anything wrong, as you have registered a 'business' name, and are conducting 'business' under that name.

Best of luck with the venture!

AFAIK you cannot describe yourself as a company without incorporating the business as a seperate entity from yourself.