Key Post Sole Trader or Set up a company - other considerations

elleirbag

I am thinking of leaving my current job ( PAYE) and taking on long term contract work (project work in organisations)

Would being a Sole trader or setting up a company be my best option?

Are there any publications I could peruse so I could weigh up the pro's and cons of both options and what the tax implications are for each.

I'd be REALLY grateful for any info you could give

Elleirbag :)

Am a sole trader myself for a number of reasons - some that I can't remember off hand!
Best bit of advice I got when I started was to find a good accountant and go through all the options with him\her and make your decision based on that. At the moment I don't have the same amount of admin that I would have if I was a company and it suits the nature of my work better at the moment.

Good luck with it all - its very exciting starting off but finding a good accountant is key!

I'm an accountant and the general rule of thumb is only set up a company if you are likely to make more money than you need to live. It may sound simplistic but it's true. Let me know if you need me to expand this more.

Hi
I'm a sole trader and I decided on the basis that companies need two directors and audited accounts. Liability is limited with a company.

Two directors means you need someone else as well, they have legal responsibilities and can't sign documents etc etc without reading them. They also can't say they were doing what you told them to do, they make decisions and stand by them.
Audited accounts means you need an accountant... can't do this yourself I don't think...

The fact that liability is unlimited as a sole trader...
Yeah, but if you take every reasonable precaution then you can't really lose everything... only if you're negligent... and you'd have insurance anyway...

Cheers
Joe

My rule of thumb - set up a ltd co if you feel you need, well, limited liability above all other business concerns.