signing contract but worried about man co. accounts

ggirl

I went to sign my contract for a place that is due to close on 28th March today but my solicitor is concerned about the estate's management company accounts. The last available are for 2006, which is fair enough since it is only March now, but at end of 2006 they have a net closing deficit of almost 18K. In addition they have only 3k in the sinking fund. The estate was first developed in 2005 I believe and the 3K was put into the fund then but nothing additional in 2006. I am no expert here but this seems insufficient.
In addition, the auditors report states they were given sufficient information to carry out the audit and that books have been kept in accordance with the rules Companies Act etc. but nowhere does it say that they are satisfied with the company's financial situation. I am limited in experience with these things but know that audits I have read in my job have stated that they auditors feel the company is in a stable financial situation etc.
I really love the apartment and am under pressure to close asap (for personal reasons) but am worried what the consequences would be if the company went belly up. Any advice would be really welcome here please!

I would run a mile!! As an owner you would be partially responsible for any management company debts, repair bills if there is not enough in the company accounts. Firstly it does not seem good enough that the last audited accounts in are 2 years old. Our year runs from May-April but the last set were filed last September. Our sinking fund has in excess of 30k in it and the development is only 4 years old.

Be glad your solicitor flagged this, there are plenty of apartments out there at the moment - go somewhere that your investment is protected.

If there are signs that there are problems with the management company then I'd agree with shesells and I'd run a mile as well.