Should I stop/reduce my payments into PRSA

MandaC

I have a standard PRSA with Irish Life which I took out only at the start of this year. It is invested in the standard Fund(Consensus Fund S)

Since I took it out my value has dropped over 25%.

I am paying €400 per month into it before tax relief. Given the current state of the market, should I reduce my payments or freeze this.

I know Pension is for the long haul (I have almost 28 years left on it) but to be honest I am sorry I took the thing out now instead of just sticking my money in the Bank. Only good thing has been that I get the tax relief, I suppose.

Hi,
I too am paying 400 euro per month into an RAC. I work in IT and to be honest I dont think I will ever retire, as studies show when you retire, your life expentancy reduces. So whats the point in having a pension??

Should I reduce the amount payed in?

I have a similar Irish Life PRSA policy to MandaC and am also questioning the point of continuing.

Perhaps someone can answer this question which might allay our worries: is it true that more investment units are bought with a monthly contribution at present since the value of the fund has dropped as I assume have the unit prices and, therefore, we would have more units than had the values remained high?

I have a similar Irish Life PRSA policy to MandaC and am also questioning the point of continuing.

Perhaps someone can answer this question which might allay our worries: is it true that more investment units are bought with a monthly contribution at present since the value of the fund has dropped as I assume have the unit prices and, therefore, we would have more units than had the values remained high?

The Unit price would naturally be lower given the large falls in the underlying assets at this time and yes you would be able to buy more units for =the same contribution amount, given the long term nature of a pension plan it would not be wise to try and time the markets.