Severe Memory Loss and Psychosis - Which would be the best sector to work?

TestLink

I am undergoing Severe Memory Loss and Psychosis - Under treatment for last 15 years. I currently work in IT, but due to the severity of memory loss, I feel much stressed and nervous in my job. I had the memory issues since my early childhood. The struggle becomes more prominent due to the high dosage anti-psychotics I take that cause sedation. I am somehow dragging myself to my work place due to financial commitments like mortgage, kids education etc.

What would be the best sector for me to work that would not be much impacted by my mental health issues? Something procedure oriented like clerical work?

My wife earns around 55k per year from her job. So would I get any disability financial support from social welfare? Or is my wife's salary above the income threshold? Even if I get a 1000 euro per month from social welfare, that would be enough for my personal expenses.

Any guidance welcome.

Your wife's income would probably rule you out for means tested payments, but you may be eligible for an illness related payment based on your PRSI contributions.

There are 2 schemes -
Illness Benefit, which is a short term scheme (maximum of 2 years payments). This is designed for people who are out sick from work and who hope to return to work.

Invalidity Pension is a long term scheme, designed for people with a long term illness or disability.

You should discuss your options with your GP or consultant (if you see one).

For more information, go to www.citizensinformation.ie and search for the 2 scheme names.