Setting up a new company

gnf_ireland

As an IT Consultant I have worked via the umbrella company/management company structure for the last 7 years. Prior to this I had my own limited company.

I am thinking of going back to the limited company structure again. I would also hope to keep my home address private - so use some sort of virtual address.

I would also be looking for an accountant to do the company returns and both tax returns, but would probably handle the day to day invoicing, VAT submissions myself.

Anyone got experience of the companies working in this space, and any advice on what pit-falls to be wary of?

Thanks

Gnf_Ireland

If you previously had a company, you are probably well up to date of the reporting requirements with CRO and the Revenue.

However, we have found the biggest change for IT Consultancy Clients, is the massive change to the ability to claim Mileage & Subsistence.
Revenue have really cracked down on this and the rules can be tricky enough.
Be careful not to fall into the trap of your Subsistence begin classified as salary by Revenue.

Have a look at the Tax Institute's news on this [broken link removed]

If you have any specific questions, just shout.

However, we have found the biggest change for IT Consultancy Clients, is the massive change to the ability to claim Mileage & Subsistence.
Thanks - I am fully aware of the National Contractor project ! Thankfully I did not fall foul of the interpretation of the rules. This is one of the benefits of a strong Management/Umbrella company in my view. I heard some really strange cases out of this, and to be fair most of the extreme ones were taking the p1$$ without doubt - the guy putting his honeymoon down as an company expense stands out !

I see 'Francois Fillon' may also have fallen foul of the Revenue's interpretation of payments to spouses and family members :)