Seeking a large personal loan

D

donaloriain

I am currently a highly qualified professional but am seeking a career change. I am looking to borrow €90,000 travel overseas to complete a training course for a period of 10 months to 1 year. I own a house in Ireland and will be renting it out while I am away to cover my mortgage costs. While I am away I will have no other income since I cannot work in the country I am travelling to. Therefore I am looking to keep my loan repayments as low as possible during this time.

The training course I wish to complete would render me highly employable. But even if this course doesn't work out, I would have no trouble getting work when I get back to Ireland in 1 year.

Has anyone got any tips on where to start? I realise that the majority of banks only offer a maximum €35k on personal loans. Will any financial institution touch a person who is leaving the country and who will have no income for that period?

Could you look to increase the mortgage on your property based on equity to cover the 90k? The first active refer to it as a top-up.

Sounds unlikely to me. I would expect a lender to look for security on a loan that size and when the borrower is leaving the country/juristiction.

Don't forget that converting your home to a rental property while you are abroad may give rise to tax (e.g. stamp duty clawback, income tax on rental income, CGT on eventual resale) and other (e.g. lender may need to be informed, alternative insurance may be required, owner occupier mortgage interest relief may not be claimed etc.) implications.

You're not thinking of training to be a pilot by any chance?

Clubman, I think the top up on the mortgage MIGHT be a possibility - it obviously depends on the LTV and expected rental return but the property might be accepted as security.