Secondary School Teaching/Substitute?

Y

youngman

I wonder if anyone preferably working as a secondary school teacher could give me some advice on the following:

I have been considering doing the Hdip and joining the teaching profession. Im a bit in the dark about multiple issues.
To provide some background. I have a degree in business from U.L. Major in Economics and finance with minor in Agribusiness. I love sport and am involved with county team,hurling & football clubs & soccer club. I am a people person and am good with children ( have helped out in montessori, with coaching underage teams etc).
I am a not happy with my career at present in the private sector and would like to add some stability in the coming years. I wanted to do teaching when i finished my degree but was advised otherwise by family and friends and told i would earn more,advance quicker and be better suited to private sector. I am hard working and ambitious and believe these attributes are just as relevant to teaching.

My main concerns are:

Where/how could i gain some experience to ensure i would be cut out for it?
Does my degree qualify me to teach many subjects?
Are there many permanent positions in secondary schools in Ireland at the moment and what are the prospects in terms of demand for teachers?
Where is the best college to do the HDip?
Can I send out my CV for subbing to schools etc in my area and have even a chance of being offered any part time teaching hours?
How could i improve my chances of getting hours/sub work?
I know a secondary school teacher who left because he said that he couldnt put up with the behaviour and this threw me off. I think i could deal with it but is there a problem with job satisfation/turnover/stress in this career?

I have missed the application date for 2008 so is this a good time to be looking for relevant experience or when is the best time.