Schedule E Expenses for an engineer

ronny78

Re: Schedule E Expenses

Hi,

I know this thread is old but I have a query on the subject with regards to engineers and was wondering if anyone can give me a definitive answer.

I am by profession a mechanical engineer and some years ago was told about the Schedule E expense for the Engineering Industry for "all unskilled workers and skilled or semi-skilled workers who do not bear the full cost of their own tools and overalls". The person who told me about it was an Industrial Engineer working in logistics who had been claiming it a number of years at that stage.

I rang the tax office to enquire about it, was quite up front that I actually work in the pharmaceutical industry on building and equipment installation projects and that items such as say safety shoes are supplied by my employer but that when working in say a plant room or on site they don't provide me with overalls and so it is up to me to wear suitable clothing for such work. That said, 65% of my work is paperwork in this industry but I was open about that too as I recall. Anyway, they told me I qualified for it, granted me the expense on my tax credits and told me to send a letter to claim back the previous years. Which I did and received a few cheques for.

I went on to tell friends about this and they too were told they qualify for it. Several work in Manufacturing and Quality Assurance and were also honest in their letters to the Revenue saying " I work as a Quality Engineer and believe I qualify for...". Which is no different say than the software engineers (another thread on here) also claiming the expense. Actually every engineer that applied on my advice qualified. Naturally I was quite popular when people were being sent cheques !